Alphabetical Index     Index by Year of Birth     Nobel Prize Laureates

Hannes Alfvén
1970 Physics

* 1908 Norrköping/Sweden
+ 1995 Djursholm/Stockholm County


Alfven Physics

  Hannes Olof Gösta Alfvén was a Swedish electrical engineer, plasma physicist
and winner of the 1970 Nobel Prize in Physics for his work on magnetohydrodynamics.
Alfvén made many contributions to plasma physics, including theories describing the behavior of aurorae,
the Van Allen radiation belts, the effect of magnetic storms on the Earth's magnetic field,
the terrestrial magnetosphere, and the dynamics of plasmas in the Milky Way galaxy.

zuletzt geändert: 2020