Alphabetical Index     Index by Year of Birthv     Nobel Prize Laureates

Johann Deisenhofer
1988 Chemistry

* 1943 Zusamaltheim, Bavaria


Johann Deisenhofer    

Johann Deisenhofer is a German biochemist who, along with Hartmut Michel and Robert Huber,
received the Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 1988
for their determination of the first crystal structure of an integral membrane protein,
a membrane-bound complex of proteins and co-factors that is essential to photosynthesis.

2021 J. Giesen