Alphabetical Index     Index by Year of Birth     Nobel Prize Laureates

Leo Esaki
1973 Physics

* 1925 in Osaka


 Leo Esaki    

Reona Esaki, also known as Leo Esaki, is a Japanese physicist
who shared the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1973 with Ivar Giaever and Brian David Josephson
for his work in electron tunneling in semiconductor materials
which finally led to his invention of the Esaki diode, which exploited that phenomenon.

2019 J. Giesen